Thankful for the snow? Well, not really…

THANKFUL FOR THE SNOW? WELL, NOT REALLY…

“…In everything give thanks, for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.”

Northeastern Ohio, end of February. After several important snow episodes already this year, we got another big one dumped on us. The weather is the talk of the day. Most people are tired of the snow and are anxiously waiting for Spring.  Most comments about the snow are in the form of complaints, and it’s really easy to fall into complaining right along with all the other snow-weary people around us!

Today as I was shoveling the driveway to make it a little wider, my thoughts went back to my Mom. Rewinding a few decades, the conversation would go something like this: “Mom, I need new shoes.” She would gently respond to my whining with “Just be thankful you have feet. Some people don’t, you know.” Eyes rolled, and I would sigh because it seemed like she just didn’t get it. Now I understand that I was the one who didn’t get it!

Tired of the snow? Wish I didn’t have to shovel any more? Would rather be in Florida with my brother Russ and not have to deal with it? Yes, yes, and yes. All of the above. But I simply had to remember Mom, and to look across the street to see our neighbor’s house to start counting my blessings. You see, because of a virus she had some five years ago, our neighbor Ann is paralyzed from her rib cage down. From her bed, she can see me. I wondered if she was thinking “I wish I could shovel snow just one more time.” Right then, in my mind, I started counting my blessings. I chose to be thankful, and here are some of the reasons:

  1. I am healthy enough to get out to shovel snow. That means not only I’m not paralyzed like our neighbor Ann, but I have arms, legs, feet, hands, eyes, everything I need to shovel!
  2. I have a shovel.
  3. I have a wonderful husband who always does more than his share. In fact, he did it all except for making it wider. I agreed to do that.
  4. I have a warm coat.
  5. I have warm gloves.
  6. I have a warm hat.
  7. I have warm shoes.
  8. We have our own home. And it is warm!
  9. We have a driveway.
  10. We have two vehicles. That’s why I was making it wider.
  11. I had a tissue in my pocket for…well, I’m so healthy that cold wind makes my nose drip!

Our driveway. Notice Ann's house across the street.

Thankful for the snow? Not really, but thankful that Mom instilled the teaching of the Apostle Paul in us, and that thankful attitude is what encouraged me today to keep shoveling!

3 Responses to Thankful for the snow? Well, not really…

  1. Marlene Kobzowicz says:

    Thank you Kathy for your reminder to give thanks and praise in all things.
    I too am one of those weary souls dreading the thought of the possibility that I might end up driving home in another snow storm to a driveway that needs to be shoveled (which I do not shovel very often,thanks to Casey and my two adult children that still live at home…..)
    Thank you for the reminder that I need to thank God for all the times (and there were many) He safely brought me home in a snowstorm, from Lakewood.
    When I look out at the snow, which is how I prefer to enjoy it, I am reminded of the beautiful scripture in Isaiah Chapter 1vs. 18. “Come now, and let us reason together” says the Lord, “though your sins are like scarlet, they shall be as white as snow, though they are red like crimson, they shall be as wool….”
    This is one of the first verses the Lord brought to my heart after I was saved years ago. How amazing is His amazing love! Our sins are covered by the blood of our Lord Jesus and when God the Father looks down upon us he doesn’t see all our unrighteousness anymore. He see a robe of righteousness, a blanket of snow. Alleluia
    It is my pray that I would see God in all things. We are to give thanks for all things and praise Him for He is worthy of our praise.
    Kathy, I pray you will become a great encourager to your neighbor. You are a blessing and a great encourager to me.

    Like

  2. God is good, and He uses the snow to remind us of how clean HE made our sins! Thanks for that reminder, too!
    You are appreciated!!

    Like

  3. Carole says:

    During the last snowfall, as I was hearing moanings and groanings from people around me, I happened to think “This is a gift from God! He’s sprinkling all this sparkly stuff all around for us to enjoy once more” and my focus turned back to where it should be, too. Being thankful!

    Like

Leave a Reply

