“So Where Did You Meet?” (Part 2)

“I will praise You, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made; marvelous are Your works, and that my soul knows very well….Your eyes saw my substance, being yet unformed, and in Your book they all were written, the days fashioned for me, when as yet there were none of them.”

Psalm 139:13-16

The “Lord, I want to go visit Argentina some day, but I have to learn Spanish first” prayer was prayed. God allowed me to learn Spanish, and I got that part of the prayer answered, and checked it off my list. Life went on. I graduated from Chippewa High School, and commuted to the University of Akron, where I was carrying a double major in Fine Arts and Education, as well as working full-time for my brother Russ, who was initiating his Chiropractic practice in Sterling, Ohio. Somehow in the busy-ness of that pace, that only an 18-21 year old can manage, I forgot about the other half of the prayer I made some years earlier. A visit to Argentina was the last thing on my mind as I juggled a very hectic schedule. In October of my senior year at the U of A, I almost couldn’t handle it all anymore. I got home late one night, and my parents announced: “We’re going to Brazil and Argentina in January and February. We want you to go with us.” With the prayer I prayed 7 years earlier forgotten, of course I answered, “No, thanks.” Then I even tried to re-direct their plans, adding: “You’ve already been there. If you want to travel and spend money, why don’t you go to Africa, or Europe, or somewhere you’ve never been?” That didn’t work. They insisted. “No, we’re going to Brazil and Argentina, and we want you to go with us.” I repeated my “NO”, because I wanted to graduate in June with all my classmates. After a few days of mulling it over in my mind, and sick of my pace, I remembered that I prayed that God would give me a chance to visit Argentina, and conceded. That trip was part of what God already had written in my book…

In January, we visited several places in Brazil, then in February, we went to Argentina. My prayer was finally answered!! Immediately I was very impressed with the friendliness and openness of the people. The first night we were there, we attended a baptismal service in the city of Lujan, Buenos Aires. Little did I know that my future husband was in that same room! Although we didn’t meet, years later a friend sent us a picture of the group that was present, where we are both seen.  That wasn’t chance. It was written in God’s book before we were born!

Being in Argentina, we did quite a bit of traveling. I met a lot of young people in different cities, who I started writing to when we returned home. I never thought that one day I would live close to them and share life experiences with them for 27 years! Even to this very day, some of these people are among my dearest friends. Along with the letters I exchanged with these new friends, one day I got an envelope from Argentina, with the name JORGE NEMEC in the return address. I knew I never met anyone by that name, and mentioned that to my parents. In that letter, Jorge introduced himself, and gave me a little of his life story. He told me he had a personal encounter with Jesus, and that he knew that God was calling him to be a missionary. I was impressed and decided to answer him. It only costs me a postage stamp. That letter was also part of what God already had written in our book….

Part 1 of So Where Did You Meet?” was posted on February 27, if you didn’t get to read the beginning of our story. In future blogs you’ll read more of what God had written in our book. We fell in love….

Leave a Reply

