MAKING RIGHT CHOICES

Like all of us, David had to make some important decisions. In fact, many of them may have weighed very heavily on him as he struggled to make the right moves. In Psalm 56, we can read of a few of the principles he chose to live by.

DAVID CHOSE TRUST INSTEAD OF FEAR: “Whenever I am afraid, I will trust in You.” (v.3) “In God I have put my trust” (notice this is in past tense) “I will not fear” (future tense) (v.4) “In God (I will praise His word), In the Lord (I will praise His word), In God I have put my trust; I will not be afraid…” (v.10)

DAVID CHOSE TO BELIEVE THAT GOD IS FOR HIM: “You number my wanderings; Put my tears into Your bottle; Are they not in Your book? When I cry out to you, Then my enemies will turn back; This I know; because God is for me.” (vs. 8,9)

DAVID CHOSE TO PRAISE GOD: “I will render praises to You….” (v.12)

DAVID CHOSE TO REMEMBER THAT GOD SUSTAINS HIM: “Have You not kept my feet from falling, that I may walk before God in the light of the living?” (v.13)

In this situation, David was surrounded by the Philistines and running from King Saul; it wasn’t an easy time for him. He had to choose between despair and trust; between lament and praise; self-pity or remembering that God sees his tears and knows right where he is. He could feel alone, or know that God was with him and for him; he could go on his own strategy and strength, or lean on God to “keep him from falling”. He could be overpowered by fear, or trust in the faithful God who had always sustained him.

Fortunately, this Psalm shows us that he made the right choices, because he knew that God gave him the victory many times in the past. He knew not only what God was capable of doing, but also who God is: the Almighty, who was on His side, upheld him, delivered him, remembered where he was and even kept his tears in a bottle and wrote them down in His book! Yes, David knew WHO he was trusting in. That’s why he could confidently declare: “In God I have put my trust; I will not be afraid….I will render praises to You…”

When I face difficulties, I want to make the right choices. I want to look back on all the times God showed me His faithfulness in the past, so I can declare with certainty just as David did: “I will trust in You! I will praise His word! I will not fear! God sees my tears! God is for me! In God I have put my trust! I will not be afraid! I will praise YOU! AMEN!”

3 Responses to MAKING RIGHT CHOICES

  1. adriel says:

    amen

    Like

  2. Carole says:

    Oh, to be more like David in my relationship with God.

    Like

Leave a Reply

