Head Knowledge – or Reality?

Hearing the account of Jesus’ death and resurrection again this past weekend, I thought a lot about the fact the He is THE LIFE. When His friend Lazarus died, Jesus assured Lazarus’ sister Martha “I am the resurrection and THE LIFE. He who believes on Me, though he may die, he shall live. And whosoever lives and believes in Me shall never die.” (John 11:25,26) By her reply to Jesus, grieving Martha knew that in her head…until she saw her brother come out of the tomb after 4 days. Then I’m sure that her head knowledge became reality, and she was convinced in her heart that Jesus is THE LIFE!

Later, Jesus declared to His disciples “I am the way, the truth and THE LIFE. No one comes to the Father except by Me.” (John 14:6) John didn’t mention in that passage what their reaction was to that declaration, but even though they had the head knowledge, some of them doubted when they heard that He had risen from the dead. Peter and John finally believed that He is THE LIFE when they entered his empty tomb on resurrection morning. Peter, having seen it, “departed, marveling to himself at what had happened.” (Luke 24:12). John “…went in also; and he saw and believed.” (John 20:8). Jesus’ words became real to them, and they were convinced that He is THE LIFE! Their head knowledge became a reality.

This same Jesus, THE LIFE, gives us LIFE! Unfortunately, like Martha and the disciples, that wonderful truth can be simply head knowledge to us. Maybe in our case, we’ve become so used to His words of LIFE that we’ve become “immune” to their real meaning. I know I have. The apostle Paul assures us in Ephesians 2:4,5 that “God, who is rich in mercy, because of His great love with which He loved us, even when we were dead in trespasses, made us ALIVE together with Christ. (by grace you have been saved)…”

I  want be reminded often of the reality of this life-giving truth. I’ve written Ephesians 2:4,5 down on a 3×5 card that I intend to keep close by me. I want to meditate on it, and thank God for THE LIFE He gives me every time I read it. Yes, when we were dead in sin, Jesus, THE LIFE made us alive! It’s a reality! Praise God!

2 Responses to Head Knowledge – or Reality?

  1. Peg says:

    I like this. Keep them coming.

    Like

Leave a Reply

