In the Morning

“But I will sing of Your power;

Yes, I will sing aloud of Your mercy in the morning;

For you have been my defense and refuge in the day of my trouble.

To You, O my Strength, I will sing praises;

For God is my defense, My God of mercy”

Psalm 59: 16, 17

David wrote this Psalm while surrounded by King Saul’s hit men. The account started with David in his house when messengers were sent by Saul to spy on David  “and to kill him in the morning.” (1st Sam. 19:11) It wasn’t a pretty picture. It was a day of trouble. Although David didn’t know how he would escape the King’s wrath, he knew that he had already been anointed by God to be next on the throne, and that God was able to turn this manhunt situation around. God used the creativity of Mical, David’s wife, to save his life that night. She let him down through a window, and as he escaped, she “took an image and laid it in the bed, put a cover of goat’s hair for his head, and covered it with clothes.” (v.13) When Saul’s messengers saw this, they were deceived into believing that he was sick in bed. It was night.

Darkness closed in and David was escaping for his life. He may or may not have been aware of the fact that the King’s men had orders to kill him in the morning, but David had other plans for the morning, because he knew Who he was trusting in! He was planning a worship service!! That was the very night that David, on the run, wrote Psalm 59. It’s interesting to note that he ended the Psalm acknowledging who God is. David wrote that God was his defense, His strength, and his God of mercy. That’s why David could commit himself to “sing aloud of Your mercy in the morning.”

When my night is dark, and the enemy is closing in on me; when he is determined to kill, steal and destroy; when I’m in a seemingly hopeless situation, I want to take David’s example and plan my personal worship service! This will only happen in the measure that I acknowledge God’s power and His mercy. I want to claim Him as My Strength, My Refuge and My Defense in the day of trouble just as David did, and commit myself to “sing aloud of Your mercy in the morning”.

3 Responses to In the Morning

  1. Carole says:

    When I went back to read the whole psalm, I found mine marked, too. (I also had v.9 marked). Isn’t it amazing how God’s plan always works out?!

    Like

  2. Peg says:

    I really enjoy your blog! Keep i up.

    Like

Leave a Reply

