When I Don’t Know What to Do…

Uncertainty. Pain. Loss. Health problems. Unfair treatment. Relationship issues. Confusion. Whatever tries to destroy my peace and threatens my wellbeing…that may be my scenario. I don’t know what to do, because I have to make a choice….

  1. I can fuss, cry, whine, complain, despair, blame someone (even God!) for the situation I’m living, and even beg God to make it go away. I can wallow in my misery and become bitter.
  2. I can try to work things out on my own. That never works. I just get stressed because I can’t change the situation. On top of everything else, discouragement will take root as I experience failure.
  3. I can choose to ask God to change me, by renewing my mind. Now THAT’S the option that works! Romans 12:2 tells me to “be transformed by the renewing of your mind.” I renew my mind by reading God’s word and thanking Him for the following:

God will give me strength! Psalm 31:24 tells me: “Be of good courage, And He shall strengthen your heart”.

Jesus is with me, even when I feel alone! Jesus promised “I am with you always, even to the end” (Matthew 28:20)

God is always good! Psalm 52:1 reminds me that “The goodness of God endures continually.”

This situation will not last forever! Psalm 30:5 promises me that “Weeping may endure for a night, but joy comes in the morning.”

God’s mercy sustains me! The Psalmist wrote: “If I say, ‘My foot slips,’ Your mercy, O Lord, will hold me up.” (Psalm 94:18)

God sets the limits! I can be assured of that when I read 1st Corinthians 10:13: “All you need to remember is that God will never let you down; he’ll never let you be pushed past your limit; he’ll always be there to help you come through it.” (The Message)

There’s a beautiful song titled “When I Don’t Know What To Do” by Tommy Walker that you can hear on www.youtube.com. Charles Billingsly does a good version of it, as do others. Please take the time to look it up and listen to it. It will help you renew your mind. Here are the lyrics:

Lord I surrender all

To Your strong and faithful hand

In everything I will give thanks to You

I’ll just trust Your perfect plan

When I don’t know what to do I’ll lift my hands.

When I don’t know what to say I’ll speak Your praise.

When I don’t know where to go I’ll run to Your throne.

When I don’t know what to think I’ll stand on Your truth.

When I don’t know what to do…

3 Responses to When I Don’t Know What to Do…

  1. Carole says:

    Isn’t it funny how we know all of this, but still try to work it out on our own so many times? Thanks for the reminder to let go and let God.

    Like

  2. Peg says:

    this is so true! Thanks for the reminders. Love you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

