“Do You Take Happy Pills?”

“DO YOU TAKE HAPPY PILLS?” That’s the question my co-worker asked me in response to my cheerful greeting this afternoon at work. The question took me by surprise, and I prayed a lightning-fast prayer for God to give me the right answer. “I sure do!” I responded. That got her attention. As a very quizzical look came over her face, I explained: “Every morning I take one Happy Pill. It’s called the Bible, God’s Word. I open it, read it, see how much He loves me and realize that I can trust Him again today. THAT’S my Happy Pill.”

When I got back to my desk, I looked at the verse I have on a 3×5 card placed between my keyboard and my monitor. It is Psalm 28:7, which says: “The Lord is my strength and my shield; my heart trusted in Him, and I am helped; therefore my heart greatly rejoices and with my song I will praise Him.” Along with the Psalmist, I can testify that happiness is a result of trusting in God. Trust Him for what? For everything. The more I trust, the happier I am!

Happy Pill, anyone?

6 Responses to “Do You Take Happy Pills?”

  1. Carole says:

    It really humbled me when someone commented to me about “you’re always happy!”
    God’s love shines out through those smiles!

    Like

  2. Lilly says:

    Glad the Lord gave you a great answer to share. How did she react? I hope this encounter gives you further opportunities to share about God’s love. Bless you!

    Like

    • Seems like she has some Biblical knowledge, because she said “lillies of the field, lillies of the field. That’s what I always tell myself when I try to balance my checkbook.” I told her she had the idea. And I am praying that this will, indeed, be the first of more – and better! – sharing with her. Four (at least) of my non-christian coworkers read my blog, including my boss! And that is really GOOD. I praise GOD for giving me this opportunity to share Him!

      Like

  3. Valerie says:

    Hi Kathy!

    When you sent me an e-mail telling me about your blog, I put it into my favorites, and only now had the opportunity to take a look at what you have written. So far, this is my favorite post! Happy Pills!! What an encouragement you are to me, and what a perfect name for your blog! I’ve shared your website with my mom, sisters and some friends. Thanks for letting God use you in this way!

    Love,
    Valerie

    p.s. Morgan is being baptized at Lakeside on Sunday 5/16/10, along with her cousins Courtney and Steven. It would be great to see you there!

    Like

Leave a Reply

