MAY – MOM’S MONTH

May Flowers

Here in Ohio, The month of May is special. The threat of snow is (hopefully) behind us, once barren trees show off tender new leaves and multi-colored flowers take over once-seemingly dead landscapes. All of that is wonderful, especially after a long winter! But May is also meaningful because here in the USA it’s the month of Mother’s Day. My Mom’s birthday was on May 11, often falling on Mother’s Day or very close. That, plus the fact that our son Dino was born in May, and so was my husband Jorge, all makes the month of May a time when I think a lot about moms and motherhood.

Actually, along this train of thought, my head is spinning with everything I’ve already written and want to post, or thoughts that haven’t quite been organized yet. I want to share some of the topics I have lined up for this month, and hope to publish, not necessarily in this order: 1st Corinthians 13 for Moms; To My Grownup Sons; “Momisms”; It Will Be Mother’s Day for Them, Too; It Was My Problem, Not His!; A Mother’s Unanswered Prayer; “Follow Me”; My Mom Gave Me Back; How Can You Not Love a Baby?; A Very Important Person.

I hope this month’s readings will encourage all of you who are moms, and everyone who has either had a mom, or still has her. You won’t read any sugary-sweet mother poems that are out of touch with reality. I promise not to glorify moms or motherhood. We all know that moms aren’t perfect (far from it!!) and motherhood isn’t always fun (but it is rewarding). As a daughter first, then a mom, I’ve learned some valuable lessons that I want to share.

You can subscribe to my blog if you wish to do so by signing up on the side where it says “e-mail subscription”, and you’ll get an e-mail every time I post a new one. You won’t want to miss any of these good topics!

3 Responses to MAY – MOM’S MONTH

  1. Carole says:

    I’m looking forward to these encouragements.
    Happy May to you!

    Like

  2. Gustavo y Janet says:

    Feliz cumpleaños Jorge!! que pases muy lindo este dia tan tan especial .desde Argentina te mandamos un abrazo fuerte.

    Kath!! creo que escribi mal tu nombre.
    Happy month of the mothers!!
    abrazos tambien para ti en este mes especial.
    besos

    Like

Leave a Reply

