REASSURANCE IN CONFUSING TIMES

May 31, 2010

During the three years Jesus was with his 12 disciples, there were a number of times when they just didn’t get it. In the gospel of John chapters 13 and 14, we see Jesus and a very confused group of followers. It was at the “Last Supper” that they seemed to have more questions than answers. When Jesus announced His betrayal, we read that “the disciples looked at one another, perplexed about whom He spoke.” asking, “Lord, who is it?” (13:22, 25) After Judas Iscariot was identified as the betrayer,  Jesus told him “What you do, do quickly”; they had no idea what was happening. Their confusion mounting, Jesus offered them reassurance for every question they had.

Jesus announced that He was going somewhere and that they couldn’t follow Him. Peter asked “Where are you going?…Why can’t I follow you now?” (13:36,37) Confusion. In response, Jesus reassured them with the timeless promise that has comforted believers ever since: “Let not your heart be troubled; you believe in God, believe also in Me. In My Father’s house are many mansions;…I go to prepare a place for you…I will come again and receive you to Myself, that where I am, there you may be also…” (14:1-3)

Still confused, Thomas spoke up for the whole group. “We do not know where You are going, and how can we know the way?” (14:5) Jesus reassured them, “I am the way, the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through Me”. (14:6) Not satisfied with that, Philip asked that Jesus show them the Father. Again reassuring, Jesus replied: “He who has seen Me has seen the Father”. (14:9)

Understanding their bewilderment, Jesus continued reassuring them with promises.

He reassured them that their prayers would be answered. “Whatever you ask in My name, that I will do.” (14:13)

He reassured them that they would not be alone. He promised them the Spirit of truth, saying “I will not leave you orphans; I will come to you…” (14:18)

He reassured them of eternal life: “Because I live, you will live also.” (14:19)

He reassured them of His love: “He who loves Me will be loved by My Father, and I will love him…” (14:21)

He reassured them of His peace: “Peace I leave with you, My peace I give to you…” (14:27)

Like the disciples, sometimes we have more questions than answers: our future, our employment, our families, our health, our finances, our relationships…. we get confused, and spill out our concerns and doubts to the Lord. Just as with them, He understands us and puts us at ease with the same promises: Our prayers will be answered. We are not alone, He is with us. Because He lives, we live. He loves us no matter what. He gives us His peace. Praise God for His reassurance in times of confusion!