The Symbiosis of Trust and Praise

At www.Merriam-Webster.com we can read the following definition of symbiosis:

1 : the living together in more or less intimate association or close union of two dissimilar organisms (as in parasitism or commensalism); especially : mutualism
2 : a cooperative relationship (as between two persons or groups) <the symbiosis…between the resident population and the immigrants — John Geipel>

sym·bi·ot·ic \-ˈä-tik\ adjective

sym·bi·ot·i·cal·ly \-ti-k(ə-)lē\ adverb  

 I am not a biologist. But when I think about trust and praise, I’m reminded of a symbiotic relationship. They live “together in more or less intimate association or close union.” Can we separate trust and praise? I think not.

I praise God because He is who He said He is, and who He showed Himself to be throughout all of history, and in my own life!
I trust in God because He is who He said He is, and who He showed Himself to be throughout all of history, and in my own life!
I cannot fully trust Him without praising Him. I cannot sincerely praise Him without trusting in Him.

Praise is an expression of trust. Trust is an expression of praise.

In the measure that we learn more of God, and see how He works, we trust Him more fully and praise Him more sincerely. Praising Him for who He is – the faithful, compassionate, holy merciful, eternal, unchanging, forgiving, all-wise God, we realize He is trustworthy! Then, as we trust Him, we learn even more of Him, and praise Him more!

“But You are holy, enthroned in the PRAISES of Israel. Our fathers TRUSTED in You; they TRUSTED, and You delivered them.” (Psalm 22:3,4)

“I will love You, O Lord, my strength. The Lord is my rock and my fortress and my deliverer; My God, my strength, in whom I WILL TRUST; My shield and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold. I will call upon the Lord, who is worthy to be PRAISED.” (Psalm 18:1-3)

“The Lord is my strength and my shield; My heart TRUSTED in Him, and I am helped; Therefore my heart greatly rejoices, and with my song I WILL PRAISE HIM.” (Psalm 28:7)

The psalmist may or may not have understood the biological definition of symbiosis, but he had a very clear understanding of the symbiotic relationship of trust and praise! I say AMEN to his convictions. How about you?

One Response to The Symbiosis of Trust and Praise

  1. Carole says:

    Amen!

    Like

Leave a Reply

