ENJOYING THE REWARD

Sons are a heritage from the LORD, children a reward from him. Psalm 127:3

According to www.dictionary.reference.com , REWARD is defined as “something given or received in return or recompense for service, merit, hardship, etc.” We live in an age of REWARDS. Many of the big retailers have REWARD programs to recompense purchases made at their establishment. We see handwritten signs offering a REWARD for the person who finds a missing pet and returns it to its owner. Some employers REWARD certain employees for excellence in productivity or service. When our older grandson was being potty-trained, he got jelly beans or M&Ms for his REWARD when he was at our house. (or was that a bribe?…not sure about that one…)

ADRIEL - the reward I got on July 17, 1979

For a long time, I expected a REWARD for having raised three children to adulthood. I interpreted this Psalm to mean that somewhere, someday (probably when I’m very old) I would be rewarded. The loooooong pregnancies, hard labor and deliveries, sleepless nights, childhood illnesses, teen issues, uncertainties and countless prayers and tears on their behalf made me wonder, “When will I get the reward?” Sometimes I even wondered if I ever would…

Today, when I finally read the passage the way it was written, I realized that I was quite mistaken thinking that I would one day get a REWARD. I’m not a Bible scholar (officially), but I think my understanding was rearranged and God showed me a truth that I wish I would have known many years ago: the children themselves ARE THE REWARD! THEY ARE THE GIFT! THEY ARE PROOF OF GOD’S FAITHFULNESS and blessing when we place Him in the center of our home. I’m not waiting anymore to be rewarded sometime in the future. I have already been rewarded! Three times!

The second of my three rewards made his earthy appearance on July 17, 1979, in Basavilbaso, Entre Rios, Argentina. We named him ADRIEL. I didn’t realize he was a REWARD then…but I do now!  And I thank God every day for having rewarded us with him.

No one can deny that there are times when our children challenge us, stretch us, irritate us, worry us, cause us to throw up our hands in despair, and drive us to our knees in prayer. BUT, as a mom, my advice to every mom is: keep Christ as the center of your life and your home and you will enjoy the REWARDS God has given you! Be thankful for them, and appreciate them! Love them and treat them as valuable gifts from our loving Father “who gives us richly all things to enjoy”! (1st Timothy 6:17)

4 Responses to ENJOYING THE REWARD

  1. Carole says:

    I love this blog.
    It still amazes me that God trusted us enough to give us these rewards to protect, cherish, teach, love, etc. for us to give back to Him. We’re sharing our rewards with Him.
    You gave us some good motherly advice, too.
    Pray for them daily!

    Like

  2. peg toth says:

    I love your thoughts. Our sons (and daughter) certainly are our rewards! What blessings they are, even when they drive you to your knees frequently…and from the sons (and daughters) come the grandchildren who are additional blessings from the Lord. No wonder mom and dad always said they had the grandest grand children and the greatest great grands, what blessings and what rewards God gives us through them.

    Like

Leave a Reply

