The Grocery Cart Was Full

“Just be happy!!”

The pouting teenager immediately responded to her mom’s harsh rebuke with two words emphatically whined loud enough for everyone in the check-out line to hear: “I aaaaaAAAAAAAAMMMmmm!” Just seconds earlier, as I was approaching the check-out line, I noticed the disgruntled teen, and observing the expression on her face, I thought “Uh-oh…looks like she’s not getting her way…” Her squinted eyes and lower lip stuck out, betraying the fact that all was not well. It looked like she was with her mom and grandma, and no doubt they were doing the weekly grocery shopping. The grocery cart was full. The teen would probably eat from what was in it.

Not being able to resist, I peeked out of the corner of my eye after the explosion. The young girl had turned her back to her mom defiantly crossed her arms, heaved a long sigh, and stuck her lower lip out farther than before. “That must be how she expresses her happiness”, I mused. Mom conversed with Grandma in a normal tone; for her, life was back to normal. The grocery cart was full.

It took only a few seconds to realize that I am often guilty of the same behavior as the teen. I saw a reflection of myself. My grocery cart is full, too. My Heavenly Father fills it every day. Not only with groceries, but of a myriad of incredibly beautiful gifts that He has for me, yet I whine and fuss when I don’t get my way. Sometimes I complain and heave that long sigh, too. Sometimes I just don’t get it right, and I’m not always rejoicing. ..and to my shame, even when the grocery cart is full.

I never thought that God would teach me such a valuable lesson at Wal-Mart. But, thankfully, He did. I hope I never forget that HE is the One who filled my grocery cart, and will always fill it. But most of all, I hope my expression of happiness shows Him just how grateful I am. My grocery cart is full!

“Blessed be the LORD, who daily loads us with benefits, the God of our salvation.” Psalm 68:19

4 Responses to The Grocery Cart Was Full

  1. Carole says:

    Maybe that’s why I don’t feel like a senior citizen yet. I’m still in those teen years. So my job starting today is to look at my full grocery cart…and it is, always!

    Like

  2. Janet says:

    yes..!! Dios es bueno el siempre tiene muchos beneficios para nosotros..

    Like

Leave a Reply

