What’s Your “Sleep Number”?

Like a magnet, that question drew me to the TV. My ears perked up when I heard “sleep number” and I dropped everything I was doing in another room to learn about the product being offered: an innovative mattress that is supposedly far superior to all others. Among other facts, the announcer assured the public that 87% of the users of this mattress testify to sleeping more soundly.

It’s indisputable that a good mattress contributes to a night of comfortable sleep; but that isn’t the sole factor. That 87% stat can be improved to 100%, regardless of the mattress that sustains our weary body if our “sleep number” is 33:27…or 3:4-5….or 4:8. Allow me to explain:

At the end of his life, God’s servant Moses, who spent countless days and long nights wandering in the desert – without a “sleep number” – wrote in Deuteronomy 33:27:The eternal God is your refuge, and underneath are His everlasting arms.” Moses was 120 years old when he died. His eyes were not dim nor his natural vigor diminished. (Deut. 34:7) Apparently, his “sleep number” was 33:27, the comfort of knowing that God’s everlasting arms were underneath him, sustaining him no matter what!

Many years later, King David revealed his “sleep number”. It was 3:4-5. David’s rebel son Absalom was attempting to overthrow the kingdom when David, fleeing from him wrote in Psalm 3:4-5: “I cried to the Lord with my voice, and He heard me…I lay down and slept; I awoke, for the Lord sustained me.” Under unbearable emotional pain and untold stress, David was assured that God heard his cries, and he rested peacefully in God’s sustaining power!

On another occasion, David again testified to getting peaceful rest even in the most troubling times of his life. “Sleep number” 4:8 attests to that. “I will both lie down in peace and sleep; for You alone, O Lord, make me dwell in safety.” (Psalm 4:8)

Those are my “sleep numbers”. If you toss and turn, not being able to get a good night’s sleep, don’t invest in a “sleep number” mattress just yet! Write down these eternal truths, put them on your nightstand and read them often. Memorize them. Thank God for them. Most of all, commit your entire life to Him, and rest in His peace…with HIS “sleep number”!!

2 Responses to What’s Your “Sleep Number”?

  1. peg toth says:

    I’m thankful I have the same sleep numbers as you do!

    Like

Leave a Reply

