BETTER THAN A FREE SANDWICH!

In the past few days, I had two incidents where I found myself inwardly disturbed about two different people who expressed absolutely NO acknowledgement or appreciation for very important things I had done for them. Although the first one was HUGE, and I was disappointed with the attitude of the person involved, I want to share today’s episode with you.

I went to the lunch room at work this morning shortly after the factory’s 9:30 break. As I glanced from the multiple vending machines to the tables, I noticed a zippered, bulging black canvass bag on one of the tables. Curious, I picked it up and noticed the name of the company that services our vending machines on it. It was heavy, full of money. Realizing that the person who serviced the machines earlier negligently forgot it there, I turned it in to HR. The vending company was called, and before long the gentleman who forgot the bag of money returned to pick it up. Witnessing this, and realizing that he had expressed no appreciation, I told him that I was the person who found his money bag, and jokingly suggested he reward me with a free sandwich…. Instead, he walked off with a simple “See ya”. Surprised by his reaction, I thought to myself: “It’s OK if he didn’t reward me with a sandwich. I don’t need it anyway and probably wouldn’t like it, either. But at least he could have thanked me.”

Immediately I wondered how many times people go out of their way to help me, or do something nice for me that they really didn’t have to do, and I don’t acknowledge it. I wonder if any of them ever thought that I was ungrateful, or if they were surprised or disappointed because I didn’t express my appreciation to them. Ouch!

Then my mind turned to God. He pours out His blessings on me every minute of every day, and yet I’m often negligent in thanking Him for them all. Don’t I thank Him? Of course I do! But certainly not enough and not “in everything”! I remembered Paul’s advice in 1st Thessalonians 5:18: “In everything give thanks” and realized that I don’t do that in the measure that I should! I’m thankful God reminded me to always have a grateful attitude towards others and towards Him, and to express that appreciation. Now tell me…isn’t that lesson better than a free sandwich?

8 Responses to BETTER THAN A FREE SANDWICH!

  1. Marlene says:

    Thank you for your blog it is such an encouragement to me.You, also,are an encouragement!

    Like

  2. Carole says:

    Sounds like God gave you your “thanks” sandwich.
    You have a good thought there about how much we actually thank others who do things for us. Thanks for that.

    Like

  3. heidiannie says:

    My mother used to tell me that if I wasn’t properly thanked for what I did for others then the LORD would thank me Himself for having an attitude to give without expecting thanks. Now, I figure that being a mom and wife is sometimes the most “thankless” job around. So I try to do “extra” things to almost shock the thankfulness into them. Sometimes it even works. 🙂
    Thankfulness is an acquired attitude-especially when times are hard. It helps to realize that the Holy Spirit is still at work in the attitude department of my life.
    Good post, Kathy.
    Thank you.

    Like

  4. peg toth says:

    I remember complaining to mom about this once and her comment made me take stock of what m motif should be. “If you expcet thanks here below, why would you want God to reward you in heaven?” So, ok, forget the thanks below, and do all things “as unto the Lord”. He’s the ultimate rewarder.
    As for being thankful to Him: I remember when our children were litle and we were teaching them to pray. Here’s some classics: “Thank you God for spoons because we can’t eat our Jello with forks” I never thanked Him for my spoon. And (when the coockoo clock went of during his prayer, another “thank you God for clocks to remind us not to be late for church”. How much we take for granted. Thanks for the post

    Like

Leave a Reply

