…YET I WILL…WHAT?

“Though the fig tree may not blossom,
Nor fruit be on the vines;
Though the labor of the olive may fail,       
And the fields yield no food;
Though the flock may be cut off from the fold,
And there be no herd in the stalls—
Yet I will….”  

I WILL …WHAT???

The prophet Habakkuk painted a bleak picture for a hopeless future. No hope for future harvest. Nothing tangible to hold on to. Nothing to show for his hard work. No results. Food is scarce, finances are tight, and he is experiencing loss in every area. He continues, “Yet I will…” and we ask,
“Yet I will WHAT?” Question God? What’s going on? Why me? How long? Where are you now?
“Yet I will WHAT?” Complain? This is really hard. I don’t understand it. I didn’t expect it. I didn’t sign up for this. No one knows what I’m going through! If only…
“Yet I will WHAT?” Put on a smiley “just fine” mask when people ask how I am? Pretend everything is OK when it’s really not?
“Yet I will WHAT?” Despair? Try to find my own solution? Hold a “pity party”? Give up?

No, none of that. The prophet understood what real joy is all about; he knew it didn’t depend on his circumstances. There’s a lesson to be learned from the prophet Habakkuk, and I want to learn it! My joy – only joy – depends NOT on what’s happening around me, but on my relationship with God: almighty, sovereign, perfect, full of mercy and truth; patient, loving, faithful and unchanging, true, everlasting and the Giver of all good things; the God who gives AND takes away. No matter what, I want to declare along with the prophet Habakkuk, “Yet I will (WHAT???) rejoice in the LORD, I will joy in the God of my salvation. The LORD God is my strength…”  (Habakkuk 3:17-19)

2 Responses to …YET I WILL…WHAT?

  1. Brenda Houry says:

    Awesome!

    Like

Leave a Reply

