A QUEST FOR “…BUT GOD”

My cousin Janice and I grew up next door to each other. We were probably together almost literally every day until she graduated from high school. Even after all those years – and we won’t say how many – and hundreds of miles, we still keep in touch. After I posted the last blog, “DIALOGUE BETWEEN DOUBT AND TRUST”, Janice sent me an e-mail that said:  “…I always say “but God” is my favorite part of the Bible. But for God where would we be????”

Janice’s comment got me thinking. Isn’t it true that when we think we are in an impossible situation and we cry out to God, either He gives us His strength to handle it or He changes the situation? When God steps in, the impossible happens. Those are the times that, when we look back we can say “This is where I was…but God…”

It also got me searching. I’m on a quest for “…but God” situations in the Bible. I’ve already discovered a few, but the very first one I found is probably the biggest and best. The apostle Paul penned it. In Ephesians 2, verses 1 through 3 he says that we were “dead in trespasses in sins”, going on to describe behavior that is characteristic of a sinful lifestyle. Dead; an impossible situation. Then in verses 4-5 we read:

BUT GOD, who is rich in mercy, because of His great love with which He loved us, even when we were dead in trespasses, made us alive together with Christ (by grace you have been saved)”

Isn’t that the most wonderful “…but God” there is? I was dead in sin, but God, who is rich in mercy made me alive! That “…but God” is so rich, so comforting and real, that I think I’ll just suspend my “…but God” quest for a few days and savor that one. Thanks, Janice, for the inspiration!

4 Responses to A QUEST FOR “…BUT GOD”

  1. peg toth says:

    Interesting thoughts. Thanks for the encouragement. Have a blessed day.

    Like

  2. 3yovichins says:

    Romans 7:24&25

    “Who will save me from this wretched man I am? Thanks be to God (but God), who delivers me through Jesus Christ our Lord.”

    No one can save me from the war inside of me(Romans 7:21-23) but God. It’s not specifically a “but God” passage; however, I think it could be implied. Thanks for redirecting us back to God, Kathy.

    Like

Leave a Reply

