MAKING LISTS (God’s Strength)

Everyone makes lists. To-do lists and grocery lists probably top the list of lists. Lists are good. If you follow my blogs, you may have noticed that I like lists. They help me focus. They simplify otherwise complex issues. Often when I read the Bible, I find myself making lists of several verses related to a certain topic and organizing them; lists of promises with who, why, when and where along side of them; lists of God’s attributes in a certain passage; and the list goes on…

Not long ago I listed and organized verses about God’s strength, and with each one, WHEN I need His strength. I want to share my list with you, just in case you need His strength. The list looks like this:

 WHEN I NEED DIRECTION:
2nd Samuel 22:33. “God is my strength and power and He makes my way perfect.”

WHEN I SEEK WISDOM:
Job 12:13. “With Him are wisdom and strength.”

WHEN I AM AFRAID:
Psalm 27:1. “The Lord is the strength of my life; of whom shall I be afraid?”

WHEN I NEED HELP:
Psalm 28:7. “The Lord is my strength and my shield; I trusted in Him and I am helped.”

WHEN I NEED PEACE:
Psalm 29:11. “The Lord will give strength to His people. The Lord will bless His people with peace.”

WHEN I’M IN TROUBLE:
Psalm 37:39. “But the salvation of the righteous is from the Lord; He is their strength in the time of trouble.”

WHEN I NEED A REFUGE:
Psalm 46:1. “God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble. Therefore we will not fear, even though….(fill in your own ending)”

WHEN I NEED MOTIVATION:
Psalm 71:16. “I will go in the strength of the Lord God…”

WHEN I DON’T HAVE ANY STRENGTH LEFT:
Isaiah 40:29. “He gives power to the weak, and to those who have no might He increases strength.”

WHEN I AM AT THE END OF THE ROPE:
Psalm 73:26. “My flesh and my heart fail; but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.”

Notice that the very last word of the last verse is FOREVER. That’s how long we can trust God for His strength! This isn’t simply a list. It is a guarantee that He will always be our strength…FOREVER!

5 Responses to MAKING LISTS (God’s Strength)

  1. Carole says:

    I love lists, and I like this one you made. Thanks. Mom always had her lists of anything/everything. That’s probably where we learned it.:)

    Like

  2. 3yovichins says:

    Why do you think Job tied wisdom and strength together? All the other verses combine strength with obvious partners (refuge and portion). Thoughts anyone?

    Like

  3. peg toth says:

    thanks. I really enjoy your thoughts. have a blessed day.

    Like

  4. Peggy says:

    Thank you, Kathy! I love to read the Bible verses most of all!
    I appreciate you and your ministries.
    love,
    Peggy

    Like

Leave a Reply

