WHAT HAPPENS WHEN I CHOOSE TO TRUST THE LORD?

We find the concept of trust over and over in God’s Word: we follow the stories of people who chose trust, others who did not, and the outcome in both cases. We know in our heads that we are encouraged to trust God in all circumstances. But what really takes place when I commit myself to full dependence on the Lord?…when my heart and my will give in to what my head knows? Here are some examples of what really goes on in my life when I choose to trust God. When I choose to trust Him….

  • I make the right choice. “It is better to trust in the Lord than to put confidence in man.” (Psalm 118:8,9). There is no better choice!
  • I will be safe.  “…but whoever trusts in the Lord shall be safe.” (Proverbs 29:25). There is no safer place!
  • He shields me. “Every word of God is pure; He is a shield to those who put their trust in Him.” (Proverbs 30:5) There is no greater protection!
  • I will rise and stand upright. “Some trust in chariots, and some in horses; but we will remember the name of the Lord our God. They have bowed down and fallen; but we have risen and stand upright.” (Psalm 20:7,8) There is nothing and no one that is more trustworthy than the Lord our God!
  • He will deliver me. “Our fathers trusted in You; they trusted, and You delivered them.” (Psalm 22:4)There is no greater deliverance!
  • He prepares something very good for me. “Oh, how great is Your goodness,…which You have prepared for those who trust in You…” (Psalm 31:19) There is no greater goodness!
  • He will keep me in perfect peace. “You will keep him in perfect peace, whose mind is stayed on You, because he trusts in You.” (Isaiah 26:3) There is no greater peace!
  • I will be happy. “Whoever trusts in the Lord, happy is he.” (Proverbs 16:20) There is no greater happiness!
  • Mercy will surround me.  “…he who trusts in the Lord, mercy shall surround him.” (Psalm 32:10) There is nothing better to be surrounded with!
  • I am blessed! “Oh, taste and see that the Lord is good; blessed is the man who trusts in Him!” There is no greater blessing!

We know in our head that trusting God is the best choice in every circumstance. Now let’s do it. We just might be surprised at what He does in response!

6 Responses to WHAT HAPPENS WHEN I CHOOSE TO TRUST THE LORD?

  1. josiah says:

    …think it’s easier said then done. although i believe the Bible to be 100% Truth, getting the knowledge from my head to my heart takes a little more doin`. liked this post though. one verse related to trust that I’ve been trying to own and let it own me is Jeremiah !7:7

    Blessed is the man whose trust is IN the Lord AND whose trust IS the Lord.

    Like

    • OH YES!! I LOVE Jeremiah 17:7-9. There are the results of trusting in the Lord. We will be green and bearing fruit when others who don’t trust Him are dried up and parched. Praise God, He gives us grace to move that head-knowledge down to our heart and into our behavior! Thank you for your comment.

      Like

  2. Peg says:

    This came just in time. I forwarded it to Mitzi. Pam asked if I could keep in contact with her so I sent her a message, then read this. Thought she would appreciate it. Love you.

    Like

  3. Bill says:

    Hi there
    You have summed it up so well,often though the message gets lost from the head to the heart, or it does with me. I whole heartily acknowledge the truth stated while my heart goes Im not too sure I need more proof. Im sure though that truth will always work itself out into experience in our lives when believed. Thanks so much, Bill

    Like

    • Thanks, Bill, for sharing your thoughts. I think moving truth from our heads to our hearts is something we’ll always struggle with. When we remember that God is faithful, and when we get to know Him more, it seems that trusting in Him becomes more natural. I’m learning…God bless you!

      Like

Leave a Reply

