WHY GOD’S MERCY IS GREAT AND MY RESPONSE TO IT

“For Your mercy is great above the heavens…” Psalm 108:4

MERCY: kindness or forgiveness shown especially to somebody a person has power over. Definition from the Encarta Dictionary: English (North America)

WHY IS GOD’S MERCY GREAT? BECAUSE…

…BY HIS MERCY HE SAVED ME! Paul wrote to Titus that it’s “not by works of righteousness that we have done, but according to His MERCY He saved us.” (Titus 3:5) If that would be the first and last thing on my list, that truth would be enough to prove how great God’s mercy really is!

…IT HOLDS ME UP! The Psalmist wrote: “If I say ‘My foot slips’, Your MERCY, O Lord, will hold me up. In the multitude of my anxieties within me, Your comforts delight my soul.” (Psalm 94:18,19)What sustains us, if not God’s mercy?

…IT FOLLOWS ME EVERY DAY! In Psalm 23:6 we read: “Surely goodness and MERCY shall follow me all the days of my life.” Praise God! There will never be a day when His mercies are not new on my life…to the very end. (Lamentations 3:22,23)

…HE GIVES IT TO ME WHEN I MOST NEED IT! “Let us therefore come boldly to the throne of grace, that we may obtain MERCY and find grace to help in time of need.” What a privilege to be invited to His presence to get what I need most, when I most need it: mercy and grace!

WHAT SHOULD MY RESPONSE BE?

REJOICE IN GOD’S MERCY. Psalm 31:7. “I will be glad and rejoice in Your mercy.”

TRUST IN GOD’S MERCY. Psalm 52:8. “I will trust in the mercy of God forever and ever.”

SING OF GOD’S MERCY. Psalm 89:1. “I will sing of the mercies of the Lord forever.”

PUT ON GOD’S MERCY. Colossians 3:12. “…as the elect of God, holy and beloved, put on tender mercies…”

HOLD ON TO GOD’S MERCY. Proverbs 3:3. “Let not mercy and truth forsake you…”

LOVE MERCY. Micah 6:8. “…what does the Lord require of you but to do justly, to love mercy and to walk humbly with your God?”

Praise God for His mercy!!

2 Responses to WHY GOD’S MERCY IS GREAT AND MY RESPONSE TO IT

  1. 3yovichins says:

    One other response…respond with it generously to those around us…can someone help me find a verse that goes with this thought?

    Like

  2. Janet says:

    Dios si que es un muy buen amigo!! ,padre ,consejero ,gracias Kathy por publicar esto ahora me hizo pensar mucho en la misericordia que Dios tiene conmigo.

    Like

Leave a Reply

