God Doesn’t Change His Plan – He Changes Us!

Seeing the suffering and anguish of His people in Egypt, God heard their cry and put His plan in place. He would deliver them from their cruel taskmasters and horrific situation and lead them to the land He promised to Abraham centuries earlier. (Genesis 12:1-3) His plan was to deliver them; Moses was an essential part of that plan, being chosen as God’s representative before the evil, pagan king and before His suffering people. Very unsure of himself, Moses had tremendous doubts, and expressed them to God. “But God, what if the people don’t believe me or listen to me?…I’m not eloquent….” And finally, he asked God: “Why don’t You send someone else?” In essence, Moses was suggesting to God that He change His plan! What audacity! Let’s look at this interaction a bit closer.

When Moses doubted God (“What if they don’t listen to me?”…), God showed him signs to confirm his plan. Moses’ rod turned into a snake; then his hand became leprous and was instantly restored. (Exodus 4:1-8)Maybe God was trying to tell him “It’s not about you, Moses…it’s all about Me!”

When Moses looked at his inability and made excuses (“I’m not eloquent, Lord…”), God reminded him that HE made Moses’ mouth and reassured him “I will be with your mouth and teach you what you shall say.” (Exodus 4:12)Was God saying “It’s still not about you, Moses…it’s still all about Me”?

When Moses had the not-so-bright idea to have God change His plan, (“Send someone else, Lord…) THAT’S when God got angry with Moses; (4:13,14) and He provided Aaron as Moses’ spokesman.

In spite of Moses’ stubbornness, his doubts and excuses, God was patient with him. Moses was not chosen because he was perfect, but God worked in Him to transform him into the leader that He wanted him to be. God’s plan would not be changed, but His servant Moses was being changed! God was dealing with him; later we read that “Moses was very humble, more than all men who were on the face of the earth.” (Numbers 12:3) He let God change him into a humble servant, and realized that it wasn’t about him, but about GOD!

God has a plan for my life. He won’t change it just because I doubt it. He won’t change it if I look at my inability to be used by Him. He won’t change it because I think my plan would work better. We see in the life of Moses what He WILL do. If I let Him, He will change me so I understand that it’s NOT all about me. It IS all about HIM! And that’s the BEST part of His plan!

4 Responses to God Doesn’t Change His Plan – He Changes Us!

  1. Carole says:

    Kath, every time I read these, I can picture them in an inspirational, devotional book.
    Thanks.

    Like

  2. Janet says:

    que lindas palabras llenas de verdad,es bueno saber que Dios tiene un plan hermoso desde el dia en que fuimos consebidos y sus planes no cambian .que bueno! abrazos Janet

    Like

Leave a Reply

