GOD’S GLORY WAS AT STAKE

“I am the Lord…and the Egyptians shall know that I am the Lord, when I stretch out My hand on Egypt and bring out the children of Israel from among them.” (Exodus 6:29 and 7:5)

God’s plan was to deliver His people from slavery in Egypt. HOW?…By hardening King Pharaoh’s heart.  Sounds like an impossibility, doesn’t it? God would multiply His signs and wonders, yet Moses and Aaron were warned that “Pharaoh will not heed you.” (Exodus 7:4) As a result, the horrific conditions the Hebrew people were living in were made worse. Worse?… WHY?…So that God would get the glory! He said “So that I may lay My hand on Egypt and bring My armies and My people out of the land of Egypt by great judgments. And the Egyptians shall know that I AM THE LORD when I stretch out My hand…” (Ex.7:4,5)

Let’s allow our minds to wander; let’s think “what if…” What if God had allowed a different twist in this situation? What if Moses and Aaron walked into the King’s court, presented God’s plan of deliverance, and Pharaoh immediately got on board? What if he would have amicably said “Great! You can leave as soon as you get your stuff together. Go with my blessing. Thanks for all the help.” ? Think a minute. Who would have gotten the glory for their deliverance? Pharaoh. Who would the children of Israel celebrate? Pharaoh. Who would they be thanking and praising as they marched out of the land of bondage? Pharaoh. Would they have known that God was behind their freedom? No. Would the Egyptians have known that God is Lord? No! Pharaoh would have made front page headlines, and God might have been referenced in a snippet somewhere towards the back of the Daily Egyptian News Journal!

But that’s not what happened. God allowed adversity, cruelty, anguish, sorrow and yes, even an evil King  to be part of Moses, Aaron and the Israelite’s story so that HE would get the glory in the end. His glory was at stake, and HE made the front page. In fact, the story was so important that we’re still marveling at it thousands of years later!

My life…there are situations I can’t understand and would rather not have to experience. Yet those are the very situations that put God’s glory at stake, so I don’t want to forget the “WHY”. As with Moses, God reminds me: “I am the Lord. You will have adversity. You will face your own “Pharaoh”. I’m allowing this, and I’m in complete control. My glory is at stake. I’m doing this so in the end, I GET THE GLORY. Remember the “WHY”.

3 Responses to GOD’S GLORY WAS AT STAKE

  1. Janet says:

    muchos Faraones en nuestras vidas , pero siempre Dios es quien nos salva y nos protege , lo vivi en estos ultimos dias y Dios me escuccho y me libro .ahora toda la Gloria a Dios que siempre esta atento a nosotros .un abrazo

    Like

  2. 3yovichins says:

    Oh my word! Your insight is so briliant. I never saw any of this in the adversity part concerning the liberation of Isreal from Egypt. Your point of God’s glory at stake had Pharoah been amiable is bull’s eye accurate.

    I’m blown away at the new vision you’ve given me about adversity!

    Like

Leave a Reply

