EVEN THOUGH…

Looking at some “though” passages in the Bible, we get an idea of how to react to bad – even astoundingly horrible – situations. Three examples stand out in my mind. What these men of faith were committed to, and how they handled their “though” situations inspires me every time I read them.

Psalm 46:1-3: “God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble. Therefore we will not fear, even though the earth be removed, and though the mountains be carried into the midst of the sea, though its waters roar and be troubled, though the mountains shake with its swelling.”

THE PSALMISTS KNEW GOD: “OUR refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble.” That’s why they confidently declared that whatever happens, (even if bad goes to worse) “we will not fear”! Later in the same Psalm we are encouraged because “The Lord of hosts is with us”, and God Himself quiets our fears even today with some very assuring words of compassion: “Be still and know that I am God.” Do I know God well enough to declare, like the Psalmists that “I will not fear”?

Habakkuk 3:17-19: “Though the fig tree may not blossom, nor fruit be on the vines; though the labor of the olive may fail, and the fields yield no food; though the flock may be cut off from the fold, and there be no herd in the stalls – yet I will rejoice in the Lord, I will joy in the God of my salvation. The Lord God is my strength…”

HABAKKUK KNEW GOD:  He referred to Him as “The God of my salvation; my strength”, testifying that no matter what the situation and even if everything else is lost, he still has reason to rejoice. Habakkuk committed to rejoicing in that which no one can ever take away: the God of his salvation. He understood that having the God of our salvation living in us, we have it all! Do I really know the God of my salvation and strength, like Habakkuk, to the point that I can say “no matter if I lose everything else, it’s OK, nothing can steal my joy, because I have Him?”

Job 13:15: “Though He slay me, yet will I trust in Him.”

JOB KNEW GOD: he knew that no matter what, God was worthy of his praise, as he immediately declared when he heard of all the catastrophes that fell on his family: “The Lord gave, and the Lord has taken away; blessed be the name of the Lord”. Job also knew that God could be trusted, and was committed to trusting Him even in the worst case scenario. When I face destruction, devastation and death in the magnitude that Job did, will I know Him well enough to say “I’m still going to trust Him, because He is trustworthy”?

These giants of the faith motivate me to want to KNOW GOD more. They lay out the pattern for getting through those “even though” situations…because to KNOW GOD more and more is the key… to “even though”!

One Response to EVEN THOUGH…

  1. Janet says:

    Amen!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

