No Excuses! A Lesson Learned at the Gym

It was probably because I didn’t have my headset on as I power-walked around the indoor track at the local “Rec Center” today that I was unusually observant. As I observed, I thought about the people who were also going around the track, and others I’ve seen there before. For them, working out isn’t an option; they don’t make excuse, even though some of them could have very valid ones due to the obstacles they face.

  • The young man hobbling on crutches, never allowing his injured foot to touch the floor…
  • The young lady who is paralyzed from her waist down, exercising her arms by wheeling herself around the track in her wheelchair…
  • The young and strong who sprint by me (lots of them!)…
  • The busy, full-time employees who carve time out of their already overloaded schedule (I’m one of them)…
  • The elderly who shuffle along with the help of their cane or walker. (Not there yet, but I hope I have their stamina at their age)…

These “athletes” have a “No Excuse” commitment.

The apostle Paul encouraged young Timothy to “exercise yourself toward godliness. For bodily exercise profits a little, but godliness is profitable for all things, having promise of the life that now is and of that which is to come.” (1st Timothy 4:7,8)

The people at the gym are a great example of the kind of commitment that Paul may have been referring to. I can almost hear him saying: “Be committed to godly living. No excuses! Working out at the gym is good; but it’s way more important to exercise yourself in godly living, even if you have obstacles that need to be overcome. No excuses!”

2 Responses to No Excuses! A Lesson Learned at the Gym

  1. Arlene Taylor says:

    It is amazing how your message and timing are so perfect!

    Like

  2. Carole says:

    Wow, you ;make me feel so guilty about walking, walking, walking! But it’s so true! Thanks.

    Like

Leave a Reply

