SEEK, SET, RENEW AND LET!

If the apostle Paul would be here in person to give us advice regarding New Year’s resolutions, maybe he would sum it up in 4 words: SEEK, SET, RENEW, LET…because he knew that what we put into our minds is very powerful! He understood that we can’t change our behavior without letting the Holy Spirit change our thoughts.

Everything we do – or don’t do – starts in our mind. We get a thought and mull it over until it shapes our behavior. So what should we focus on? Let’s see what Paul says:

SEEK: “Seek those things which are above, where Christ is, sitting at the right hand of God.” (Colossians 3:1)

SET: “Set your mind on things above, not on the things on the earth.” (Colossians 3:2)

RENEW: “And do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, that you may prove what is that good and acceptable and perfect will of God.” (Romans 12:2)

LET: Let this mind be in you which was also in Christ Jesus.” (Philippians 2:5)

Hmmm…I think there is a pattern here. Paul is pointing out the importance of focusing on eternity, because that is what really matters. When eternity is our focus, our behavior will change.

Unfortunately as the years go by and I look back, I’m ashamed to see how many things disturbed my mind that didn’t really matter; how many times I got caught up in trivialities and how often worry invaded my peace…because I didn’t follow the apostle Paul’s advice. I wasn’t seeking those things that are above, and I didn’t set my mind on them. I didn’t renew my mind, and I didn’t let Christ’s mind be in me.

I don’t know if you made any New Year’s resolutions, but I did…to SEEK, SET, RENEW and LET!

Leave a Reply

