A Bouquet of Six

Just one whiff of the daffodils that line the sidewalk leading to the entrance of our local Post Office was enough to cause an instant deluge of memories…that was the “Easter” fragrance that provoked a mental picture of six siblings, mostly in their teens and decked in Easter finery, posing for a picture. Being the youngest, (not yet in my teens) my place was always secure in the front; behind me were my three older sisters, and bringing up the back were our two brothers. Because they were younger than our sisters, they often stood on their tip-toes to look older and manlier. The scenario repeated itself often, photographically journaling our growth….a bouquet of six.

Leaving the Post office, I glanced at the daffodils again, drinking in their sweet perfume. Mentally, I flipped through an imaginary album of pictures that we six siblings had taken throughout the years…until I got to the last picture we had taken in 2004, which included Dad and Mom. That one is on display in our home;  it’s special, because now there are five siblings. Dad and Mom are gone, also.

As I thought about the scent of the daffodils, Easter, family pictures, fading bouquets, change, siblings and the brevity of our lives, the truth of Isaiah 40:8 became very real: “The grass withers and the flower fades, but the Word of our God stands forever.”

Isn’t it comforting to know that? Even though the bouquet isn’t what it once was, I thank God that He allowed me to be part of a bouquet of six, and I’m even more grateful that long after we’ve all faded, the truth and beauty of God’s Word will be alive and vibrant – and it will NEVER fade!

10 Responses to A Bouquet of Six

  1. Carole says:

    I loved this “bouquet of 6” that we made. You bring out those memories so well, and I can just picture the brothers on tippy-toes, grinning from ear to ear! And the sisters with their finest Easter bonnets! We were such a blessed bouquet! And just like you mentioned, the flowers fade, but God’s word will always be and never change! Thanks.

    Like

  2. Peg says:

    Kath, I loved this! I just finished looking through some of those old photos and thought about all the wonderful times we had growing up, and all those memories we’re making as grandparents. I’m so thankful our siblings are still close together. I love sharing these memories with our grands, and they love hearing them. I know they will pass them on to there children when the time comes. And I am SO thankful that God’s word NEVER changes. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  3. Martha says:

    How come I never saw any of those pictures of the bouquet of six? Pull those out, Mom! I want to see them. 🙂 Your entry today brought tears to my eyes, Aunt Kath, as I pictured all of you standing together as siblings. I do wish I would have known you all as kids, but I’m pretty sure I would have loved you as much as I love my own siblings and cousins! 🙂

    Like

  4. Janet says:

    cuanta verdad tiene tus palabras, y sobre todo donde decis que la palabra de Dios nunca se seca, esto me hace recordar a mi abuela y las flores de fresias que siempre me ragala cuando era chiquita.Dios te bendiga mucho por compartir tantas enseñansas

    Like

  5. Lilly says:

    Great post. I very much enjoyed reading it. Do add some of those pictures to your blog. I’d love to see them too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

