WHEN I GROW UP…

“What do you want to be when you grow up, Lola?” Our five-year old grandson’s question caught me off guard yesterday. As my mind fumbled for an answer, he quickly added: “I want to be a firefighter.” Three-year old Milos chimed in, “And I want to be a policeman!” When he pressed me for an answer I said something to the effect of “Well, I’ll probably work in an office”, which is what I actually do.

I wondered why he asked me that….maybe it’s because we were on our way home from the park, where the three of us played “tag”. Milos and I chased Jehiel up and down every piece of playground equipment, inside each nook and cranny of the park until I ambushed him and caught him. Finally, physically tired, Jehiel suggested we go back home, which was fine with me. I was exhausted!

Looking back, it must have been a bit funny to the only 2 other kids at the park; they watched wide-eyed as Lola played, laughed, hooted and hollered with the boys. If they could have asked me something, it probably would have been something related to when I grow up, too…

Now that I’ve had time to think it over, I know what I want to be when I grow up. My wise husband helped me out on the answer: I want to be a child. A child who loves to play and loves to have fun; who loves to learn and is teachable; who is willing to help. As a child, I want to be ready to forgive, to sleep peacefully at night, and to say thank you when someone is gracious to me. I want to be a child who loves Daddy, who believes what Daddy says, and trusts that he will keep every promise.

At that time the disciples came to Jesus, saying, “Who then is greatest in the kingdom of heaven?”Then Jesus called a little child to Him, set him in the midst of them, and said, “Assuredly, I say to you, unless you are converted and become as little children, you will by no means enter the kingdom of heaven. (Matthew 18:1-3)

When I grow up, I want to be a child!

5 Responses to WHEN I GROW UP…

  1. Carole says:

    I love that answer! We’re instructed to be child-like, even in our daily living. BTW, your body can take it now, but running around in 10 years? Maybe not so much. (^_^)

    Like

  2. Peg says:

    I love it! I agree with Carole, only try almost 15 years! I’m thankful some of our grands are old enough to help pick the beans because this Grandma was worn out after 3 days of garage sales and picking the cukes and about half the beans….But, my Father is so good, I know He’ll give me a peaceful, restful night, and another day of rest tomorrow.

    Like

  3. I love that! You’re so right that being child takes intentionality. I especially liked this line:
    I want to be a child who loves Daddy, who believes what Daddy says, and trusts that he will keep every promise.
    Amen!

    Like

Leave a Reply

