DRESSED LIKE DADDY

Earlier this season we went to the Great Smoky Mountains with our son Adriel and his family. Making the reservations for an afternoon of ziplining, we discovered that kids as young as 5 years of age can zipline, too! So Jehiel, who is 5, went with us on an unforgettable ziplining expedition. Just like an adult, he had his helmet, harness and gloves. He was dressed just like his daddy!

Jehiel, dressed just like his daddy, for our ziplining adventure.

The Psalmist wrote “Bless the Lord, O my soul! O Lord my God, You are very great; You are clothed with honor and majesty, who cover Yourself with light as with a garment…” (Psalm 104:1,2) The image of our Father God, dressed in light stayed with me when I read it a few days ago. I mulled it over. Maybe that’s what the apostle Paul had in mind when he encouraged the Ephesians to “walk as children of light” (5:8), or when he reminded the Thessalonians that “you are all sons of light…” (1st Thes. 5:5)

So I imagined myself in a picture beside my Heavenly Father. He is dressed in light…and am I? Or is my image some undefined, hazy figure in grey tones?…or a blob that blends in with the background? When Paul wrote to the Ephesians about walking as children of light, he painted a picture of what that looks like, and the characteristics he outlined are summed up in 5 words: “Be filled with the Spirit” (Eph. 5:18). When I’m filled with God’s Spirit, His light will shine through me. It will be very clear to everyone that looks at the “picture” that I’m dressed just like Him, lighting up a dark world.

PS – we had a great time ziplining!

4 Responses to DRESSED LIKE DADDY

  1. Peg says:

    You are obviously much younger than I am- and braver, too! I loved this analogy. I pray daily that I can reflect His light and not my weak earthly self. Thanks for posting.

    Like

  2. 3yovichins says:

    I believe this is ziplining in heaven

    Like

Leave a Reply

