FROM PREDICAMENT TO PRAISE

Predicament: “an unpleasantly difficult, perplexing or dangerous situation.”  (www.dictionary.com)

Were you ever in a predicament? The Psalmist David was. In Psalm 57, he journaled one of the most intense situations he ever faced. King Saul and 3,000 of his chosen men were chasing David; they were out to kill him. (1st Samuel chapters 22-24) Hiding in the cave of En Gedi, David poured his heart out to God, and ended up with a beautiful exclamation of praise.  For our benefit, God allowed David’s chronicled journey from predicament to praise to be recorded for us! Let’s look at Psalm 57.

David’s predicament: Running from King Saul and 3,000 men, he was hiding in a cave. He wrote: “My soul is among the lions…they have prepared a net for my steps.” (v.4,6)

David’s plea: “Be merciful to me, O God, be merciful to me!” (v.1)

David’s perspective: Trust! “…for my soul trusts in You.” (v.1)

David’s position: In the shadow of Your wings I will make my refuge until these calamities have passed by.”  (v.1)

David’s promise: “I will cry out to God Most High…” (v.2)

David’s peace: “He shall send from heaven and save me…God shall send forth His mercy and His truth.” (v. 3)

David’s persistence: “My heart is steadfast, O God, my heart is steadfast. I will sing and give praise.” (v.7)

David’s praise: “Your mercy reaches unto the heavens, and Your truth unto the clouds. Be exalted, O God, above the heavens; Let Your glory be above all the earth.”

David’s predicament didn’t immediately improve; but his heart was in the right place and God was glorified, even in the cave! When we face predicaments of our own, let’s challenge ourselves to follow David’s steps from predicament to praise!

4 Responses to FROM PREDICAMENT TO PRAISE

  1. Carole says:

    Thanks…the predicament I told you about is still being worked on :). It’s just taking a few more days than I expected! Thanks for the “heads up” the other day, and the encouragement now.

    Like

  2. Peg says:

    Good food for thought. Thanks much.

    Like

Leave a Reply

