CHARGING OUR “TRUST BATTERY”

A good friend gave me an e-reader recently, and I often use it as I work out on a stationary bike at the gym. Engrossed in my “book”, the six miles I cycle literally fly by! (Some of the books I’ve enjoyed while cycling are: “Life without Limits” by Nick Vujicic; “The Secret Life of a Fool” by Andrew Palau; “Killing Kennedy” by Bill O’Reilly; “Between a Rock and a Hard Place” by Carol Kent; “Ellis Island Interviews” by Peter Coan and “My Life Without God” by William J. Murray)

This plan tends to work great…until the battery needs charged. A blank screen appears with a message something to the effect of: “Your reading device does not have enough battery to continue.” That makes the six miles ve-ry-long and pret-ty bo-ring!! I almost ask, like a child, “Are we there yet?” until I see the 6.00 flash on the mile section of the screen!

As we “do life”, sometimes we don’t have enough trust to continue in our situation, either. Our trust battery needs charged. We may not be aware of the need to charge our trust battery until we find ourselves in a complicated situation. That’s an excellent opportunity to follow the steps that the writer of Proverbs 22:17,18 wrote:

“Incline your ear and hear the words of the wise (Make an effort to get into God’s Word!)
And apply your heart to my knowledge (What I read in God’s Word is for ME!)
For it is a pleasant thing if you keep them within you (Remember His Word/promises-3×5 cards, anyone?)
Let them be fixed upon your lips (Talk about God’s Word!)
So that your trust may be in the Lord...” (Trust battery is charged!)

So when we face that blank screen in our lives, God’s message is that we need to charge our trust battery. Following the plan outlined above, we’ll have renewed trust in the ONLY One who is worthy to be trusted – no matter how long our 6-mile stretch turns out to be!

4 Responses to CHARGING OUR “TRUST BATTERY”

  1. Carole says:

    *like* Somehow, I need recharged lots of times. I think I can figure things out on my own because I’m too busy to stop and trust. It wastes a lot of energy. Trust! I have to build that up each day.

    Like

  2. Peg says:

    Seems like the older we get the more frequently our battery needs charged. Thankful we can “plug in” anytime, anywhere and know that the charge is a good one! Thanks for the post.

    Like

Leave a Reply

