“So What’s New?”

“So what’s new?” A coworker ran that overused question by me one morning, not really expecting anything more than the normal, mumbled “not much” that we usually hear – or say – in response. That’s why my own half-hearted “not much” answer didn’t impress him at all.

Thinking I should really amend my reply, I added with genuine “oomph”:  “Do you REALLY want to know what’s new? I have something awesome to share with you. It’s good news! God’s mercies and compassions are NEW this morning, just like they are every morning!

That reply got a response from him that I didn’t expect; he quickly added, “…and so is His forgiveness.” My coworker went on to share a situation when he unexpectedly received very undeserved forgiveness from someone he wounded deeply; he also commented that he always asks God for forgiveness, and a good conversation followed.

“So what’s new?” I discovered that our reply can open doors to share more truth about God when we lay the foundation of expressing that His mercies and compassions are new. Try it!

Through the Lord’s mercies we are not consumed, because His compassions fail not. They are new every morning; great is Your faithfulness.” Lamentations 3:22,23

7 Responses to “So What’s New?”

  1. Peg says:

    What a good response. Sort of like when somebody asks “How are you”, or Have a Good day. We usually answer “You have a blessed day, too.” Wow! The response and smiles we get from that are just awesome!

    Like

  2. Martha says:

    I love this post! That comment sure beats talking about the weather … again! And of couse, while stating the fact that His mercies are new, giving examples of them sure can turn conversations around, can’t they? Thanks for the reminder. This is one of my favorite verses!

    Like

  3. Brenda says:

    I was reading your mind/face when I saw you the other day and said, “how are ya?” ….I knew a heartfelt and intellectual post would follow! I used to only say, ‘Hi!” when I saw someone…until I moved to the South, and noticed that my southern hairdresser always asked people “How are ya?” . She also shared how southerners find northerners to be very harsh and non-conversational. So ever since then I try to make sure I say something other than just “HI!”

    Like

  4. Lynn says:

    That was a wonderful story. I need to change my responses to sayings like that. You are a great example of living for Christ in the moment of each day. I think I will write down some answers so I am ready for a response when someone asks, How are you or what’s new? Thanks for the post.

    Like

Leave a Reply

