LOVING GOD

You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart, with all your soul, and with all your strength.” Deuteronomy 6:5.

What does it really mean to love God with that level of commitment and intensity? The Apostle Paul’s description of love in 1st Corinthians 13 might give us some insight. Let’s read that famous essay on love with a focus on loving God. It might look something like this:

Though I speak with the tongues of men and of angels, but don’t love God, I have become sounding brass or a clanging cymbal.
And though I have the gift of prophecy, and understand all mysteries and all knowledge, and though I have all faith, so that I could remove mountains, but don’t love God, I am nothing.
And though I bestow all my goods to feed the poor, and though I give my body to be burned, but don’t love God, it profits me nothing.

If I love God, I am patient and kind.
If I love God, I do not envy.
If I love God, I do not parade myself; I’m not puffed up;
I do not behave rudely; I don’t seek my own benefit,
I am not provoked, I think no evil.
If I love God, I do not rejoice in iniquity, but I rejoice in the truth.
If I love God, I bear all things, I believe all things, I hope all things, I endure all things.
God’s love to me never fails…how much do I love Him?

2 Responses to LOVING GOD

  1. Peg says:

    That is such a good post for today! God’s love truly never fails…how about our love to Him? How often do we fall short when we look at the list of things love DOESN’T do or isn’t? Makes you ponder on your own life. Thanks for the post. (And I love you, not only on Valentine’s Day)

    Like

Leave a Reply

