SPRING CLEANING – STITCH, PITCH, DITCH, SWITCH

 

Spring’s here! We see “stuff” that accumulated during long, dark winter days. Lengthening daylight hours energize us to do Spring Cleaning; to manage our “stuff”. To do that, I created a simple strategy: switch, pitch, ditch, switch. I do that as I go from closet to bookshelf, to corner and cubby. Each item is categorized:

STITCH: That’s where salvageable things go that I’m committed to fixing. Stitch, glue, tighten a screw, tape, replace a part…you get the idea. Make it useable again.

PITCH: These are useable items that are in good shape and “pitched” into a box to donate: books I’ll never read again, clothes that don’t fit right, shoes, accessories, gadgets, etc. Plus…when I leave my stuff at the thrift store, I get to go in and pick up things for next Spring’s “Pitch Box”!

DITCH: Some things simply have to go. These are things that are way past the “Pitch” stage and won’t help anyone: severely worn, shabby looking, un-fixable. That’s why we have weekly trash pick-up!

SWITCH: To get to this category, first I have to either “pitch” or “ditch” an item. I need a new one. Why keep burning toast because the toaster only works on HI? Why keep shoving that old red jacket with a broken zipper and frayed elbows to the back of the closet? Or what about all those clothes that are too small? (Come on, we all have them…) I’ll ditch those things and go bargain hunting!

DSCN0496

GOD DITCHES AND SWITCHES! He sees the sin-stained, selfish, salvageable heart that separates us from His presence, and promises to ditch it. In Ezekiel 36:26-28 God promises us: “I will give you a new heart and put a new spirit within you; (SWITCH) I will take the heart of stone out of your flesh (DITCH) and give you a heart of flesh (SWITCH). I will put My Spirit within you and cause you to walk in My statutes, and you will keep My judgments and do them … you shall be My people, and I will be your God.”

If you’ve never let God DITCH your old, sinful heart and SWITCH it to a clean new one, let Him do that! God specializes in making new hearts through faith in Jesus! Your life will change forever, and you will spend eternity with Him!

Those of us who have that new heart know that we often need Him to STITCH it. The promise of 1 John 1:7 assures us that “if we walk in the light as He is in the light, we have fellowship with one another, and the blood of Jesus Christ His Son cleanses us from all sin.” We can praise Him for that! God wants us to be willing to do whatever needs to be done in our lives: STITCH, DITCH, or SWITCH!

Happy Spring Cleaning!

4 Responses to SPRING CLEANING – STITCH, PITCH, DITCH, SWITCH

  1. Carole says:

    I love this one. So practical. So true! Thanks.

    Like

  2. Dory says:

    thanks that was a good one today

    Like

  3. Peg says:

    I love this post! What a good idea for spring cleaning: myself first and then the house. Hope it takes less time for me than it will my house (and basement). Both of them depend on my willingness to “let God” then to “make me” do it. Thanks for the helpful hints.

    Like

  4. Martha says:

    I can completely relate to this post!! 🙂 Thank you for sharing your thoughts!

    Like

Leave a Reply

