“JUST MY HEAD IS THIRSTY”

Milos with his bike

Milos with his bike

Exhausted from our bike ride around the neighborhood, our grandsons and I were pushing our bikes up the last few yards of our driveway. The dialogue with four-year old Milos, who has a unique perspective on things, went like this:

Grandma: “Wow! I’m really tired! How about you?”

Milos: “No, just my head is thirsty.” (Actually he said “firsty”)

With that declaration, Milos disappeared into the kitchen and guzzled a glass of cold water.

That episode reminded me of a promise that God made to His people thousands of years ago, recorded by the prophet Isaiah. Even though God promised it for a special people-group at a special time, I claim it for myself and our family, also.

God said: “For I will pour water on him who is thirsty, and floods on the dry ground; I will pour my Spirit on your descendants, and My blessing on your offspring.” (Isaiah 44:3) With that, God promises to generously quench our thirst; not just our thirsty heads, but much more importantly, our thirsty souls. Then He goes one step further to assure us of His provision for the spiritual needs of our families.

Like all God-fearing parents and grandparents, we often pray for our families. Just as Milos was in a hurry to get a drink when his “head” was thirsty, we pray that we and all of our children and grandchildren would be quick to run to Christ when our hearts are thirsty. When we do that, God will do exactly what He promised to do: He WILL pour His Spirit on our descendants, and His blessing on our offspring, with satisfying rivers of living water!

“If anyone thirsts, let him come to Me and drink.
He who believes in Me, as the Scripture has said,
out of his heart will flow rivers of living water.”
John 7:37,38

2 Responses to “JUST MY HEAD IS THIRSTY”

  1. Peg says:

    I really enjoy the lessons you share that your grandchildren teach you. I find that to be so true with ours also. They have a unique perspective on things that I never think of. It really stimulates me to share with them how God uses little “every day things” to teach us how to love and serve Him better.

    Like

Leave a Reply

