“I HAVE GOLD! REAL GOLD!”

Five-year-old Milos’s huge, round eyes sparkled as he enthusiastically declared “I have gold! Real gold!” He invited me into his little world to see the precious stash he had hidden, expecting me to “Oooh!” and “Aaaahhh!” over it with him. Curious, I followed him to his bedroom, feeling privileged to share his excitement. I did what any Grandma would do: I “Oooohhhed” and “Aaahhhed” over his shiny little plastic beads.

Milos had his “gold” (plastic) treasure very well hidden. From his nightstand, Milos pulled out one of daddy’s stocking caps that was stuffed with one of Mommy’s Tupperware bowls (I wondered if she was looking for it). Inside the bowl was a cut-off sock, jammed full of what he called “fluff” (cotton batting material) and in the toe of the sock…his precious “gold”. He went to great lengths to hide his treasure under a big picture book as he put it back, and whispered: “I hidded it here.” The secrecy factor added to its value, and to Milos’s excitement.

In Psalm 119:162, the Psalmist wrote: “I rejoice at Your word as one who finds great treasures.” For him, God’s Word was the treasure that he was really excited about; throughout Psalm 119, the value of God’s Word is described; we discover how precious God’s Word is.

God’s Word revives us. (verse 25)
God’s Word gives us strength. (v. 28)
God’s Word gives salvation. (v.41)
God’s Word can be trusted. (v.42)
God’s Word gives us life. (v.50)
God’s Word comforts us. (v.76)
God’s Word is eternal. (v.89)
God’s Word makes us wise. (v.98)
God’s Word gives us understanding. (v.130)
God’s Word gives light to our path. (v.105)
God’s Word holds us up. (v.116)
God’s Word protects us from habitual (dominating) sin. (v.133)
God’s Word is very pure. (v.140)
God’s Word is truth. (v.160)
God’s Word is “Better than thousands of coins of gold and silver”. (v.72)

It’s hard to compare God’s Word to the little pile of plastic “gold” that Milos had secretly stashed away. Each time we open it, let’s remember the incomparable value it has. Let’s read it expecting to extract words that will make us richer, hiding it in our hearts and allowing it to work in our lives. Appreciating God’s Word as the great treasure that it is, we just might get the level of enthusiasm that Milos had with his “real gold”!

3 Responses to “I HAVE GOLD! REAL GOLD!”

  1. Peg says:

    That experience is just so precious. Just like how precious our experiences as we discover over and over the wonderful treasures we have in His Word and in His grace. Love, joy, peace, contentment, comfort, wisdom, and the list could go on an on and on.

    Like

  2. Dory says:

    That was so good Thanks Kath From: ETERNAL ENCOURAGEMENT Sent: Monday, April 07, 2014 9:53 PM To: billdory40@ohio.net Subject: [New post] “I HAVE GOLD! REAL GOLD!”

    eternalencouragement posted: “Five-year-old Milos’s huge, round eyes sparkled as he enthusiastically declared “I have gold! Real gold!” He invited me into his little world to see the precious stash he had hidden, expecting me to “Oooh!” and “Aaaahhh!” over it with him. Curious, I foll” Respond to this post by replying above this line

    New post on ETERNAL ENCOURAGEMENT

    “I HAVE GOLD! REAL GOLD!” by eternalencouragement

    Five-year-old Milos’s huge, round eyes sparkled as he enthusiastically declared “I have gold! Real gold!” He invited me into his little world to see the precious stash he had hidden, expecting me to “Oooh!” and “Aaaahhh!” over it with him. Curious, I followed him to his bedroom, feeling privileged to share his excitement. I did what any Grandma would do: I “Oooohhhed” and “Aaahhhed” over his shiny little plastic beads.

    Milos had his “gold” (plastic) treasure very well hidden. From his nightstand, Milos pulled out one of daddy’s stocking caps that was stuffed with one of Mommy’s Tupperware bowls (I wondered if she was looking for it). Inside the bowl was a cut-off sock, jammed full of what he called “fluff” (cotton batting material) and in the toe of the sock…his precious “gold”. He went to great lengths to hide his treasure under a big picture book as he put it back, and whispered: “I hidded it here.” The secrecy factor added to its value, and to Milos’s excitement.

    Like

  3. What a great reminder about how precious God’s Word is! It’s so easy to take it for granted.

    Like

Leave a Reply

