THE GIFT? OR THE ACCESSORIES?

A few days before Christmas, my 4 cup coffee maker broke. At my husband Jorge’s prompting, I bought a single-serve coffee maker as his Christmas gift to me.

If he would have given me a box of 18 k-cups and not the single-serve coffee maker, I would have thought him to be…well…out of touch with reality. Or what if he would have brought me a k-cup storage drawer or tower, saying, “Here, I know you love coffee and your coffee maker broke, so I brought you this. It’s my gift to you. I hope you like it.”

Ridiculous, right? Why would I want the accessories without having the single-serve coffee-maker?

Then I thought about our gift to God. We know that there is no gift we can give God to “earn” or “buy” our salvation. That is His gift to us. But when we’ve accepted His gift of salvation in Jesus, we want to give Him something out of the overflow of thanksgiving and appreciation we have.

So what can I give God? My money? No. The Bible teaches that God, the Creator of the world and universe, owns everything. He won’t lack anything if I don’t give Him money.

Should I give God some good works? No. We read in His Word that even the best we can give Him isn’t good enough; all of our good works are like filthy rags.

How about worship? No. In the Bible we read that He has ten thousand times ten thousand and thousands of thousands around His throne worshiping Him day and night. What can I contribute to that?

All of those are accessories that God doesn’t want or appreciate unless we first give Him the gift. What gift? In Proverbs 23.26 we read that what God really wants is our heart. He says, “My son, give me your heart.”

After we give God our heart (which includes our will, our plans, our desires, our attitudes, our emotions, everything we are and that we have) THEN our financial offerings, our service, good works and worship will be acceptable to Him.

If we haven’t given God our heart yet, let’s do that. It’s the gift He would be most delighted with!

One Response to THE GIFT? OR THE ACCESSORIES?

  1. Peg Toth says:

    Thanks! I’ve been missing your Eternal Encouragement messages. They are so timely.

    Like

Leave a Reply

