OUR GOD WILL NEVER FORGET US

Can a woman forget her nursing child
and not have compassion on the son of her womb?

Surely they may forget, yet I will not forget you.
See, I have inscribed you on the palms of My hands.”
Isaiah 49:15,16

In the past, each time I read this passage, I thought: “That’s a good example, but there’s NO WAY a mother can ever forget one of her children!” Being the mom of three, I considered “surely they may forget” an impossibility.

Then Mom’s Alzheimer’s worsened. Each time I visited her, she would ask who I was, and my introduction was always the same: “I’m Kath, your baby.” Questions always followed: “Are you married?…Who to?…Do you have children?” Then she’d repeat, “Who are you again?” and she would proceed to ask the same questions over and over.

As I saw Mom’s memory fade, this verse that Isaiah wrote centuries ago became very comforting to me. Realizing that she really did forget me, this passage became very real to me. I embraced the truth of it. “Surely they may forget, yet I will not forget you. See, I have inscribed you in the palms of my hands.” Those nail scars that He has on the palms of His hands give me the assurance that He loves me with everlasting life, and He will never forget me.

It is comforting to know that our heavenly Father will never forget any one of His children, and I praise Him that we can rest in that truth.

(Join me every Monday on my quest to know God better)

One Response to OUR GOD WILL NEVER FORGET US

  1. Peg Toth says:

    Thanks, Kath for a gentle reminder!

    Like

Leave a Reply

