OUR GOD IS OUR SOURCE OF JOY

Many centuries ago, the Old Testament prophet Habakkuk set an example for believers of all times: he chose joy. Habakkuk decried the evil, injustice and lawlessness of his day. Pouring his anguish out to God, he finally understood that one day, the God of our salvation would make all things right and establish justice. That’s why, even in the middle of very hard times, Habakkuk was able to choose joy, saying, “…yet I will rejoice in the Lord.” (Habakkuk 3:18)

What if I would choose joy? What would “…yet I will rejoice in the Lord” look like in my life?

I don’t understand why I’m in this situation… “yet I will rejoice in the Lord.”
I don’t see a way out… “yet I will rejoice in the Lord.”
I may lose… “yet I will rejoice in the Lord.”
I may feel alone… “yet I will rejoice in the Lord.”
I’ve been let down… “yet I will rejoice in the Lord.”
I never thought this would happen to me… “yet I will rejoice in the Lord.”

What threatens to steal my joy in the Lord? Fear? Disappointment? Anxiety? A relationship gone bad?

Whatever it is, God is in control. He’s the God of our salvation who one day will right the wrong and establish perfect justice. That’s why He is our source of joy. That’s why we can join Habakkuk and say… “yet I will rejoice in the Lord.”

(Join me every Monday of 2016 as I share my quest to know God better)

3 Responses to OUR GOD IS OUR SOURCE OF JOY

  1. Lynn says:

    It is true that having joy is a choice. Joy is a gift of God. Thanks for the reminder.

    Like

  2. Peg Toth says:

    And we need to reflect that joy in our lives daily….thanks for reminding us. Blessings to you.

    Like

  3. Dory says:

    Good one today. Thanks

    Like

Leave a Reply

