THE MISSING INGREDIENT

January 11, 2013

The kitchen counter was cluttered with cooking utensils, pans, bowls, ingredients – some in measuring cups, some still in the canisters – and the sink was full of dirty dishes as I rushed to get the Lemon Cheesecake Squares in the oven before we sat down for dinner. After dinner, when the Lemon Cheesecake Squares were out of the oven, the dishes were washed and the counter was cleaned off, I discovered two eggs that were hiding under the mess. Because of my hurried carelessness, they didn’t end up where they should have!

Were the Lemon Cheesecake Squares good? Sure. They were OK. But they would have gotten into the “yummiest” category if they would have had all the ingredients the recipe calls for.

That reminded me of my life. Maybe it’s OK; but following God’s recipe (His Word) to a “T” would take it to the “excellent” level. I have the Bible to make me “complete, thoroughly equipped for every good work” (2 Timothy 3:17), yet sometimes there is an ingredient that is carelessly overlooked. I don’t know about you, but in any given situation in my life, one – or more – of the following ingredients are missing, and mediocrity replaces excellence.

Salt: “Let your speech always be with grace, seasoned with salt…” (Colossians 4:6)

Joy: “Rejoice in the Lord always. Again I will say, rejoice!” (Philippians 4:4)

Prayer: “You do not have because you do not ask.” (James 4:2)

Trust: “So why do you worry?” (Matthew 6:28)

Thankfulness: “In everything give thanks.” ( 1 Thessalonians 5:17)

Love: If I “have not love, I am nothing.” (1st Corinthians 13:2)

Let’s be careful to check the recipe often, incorporate all the ingredients, and become the complete man (or woman) of God, thoroughly equipped for every good work. Let’s move from just being OK to being excellent!